• A Look Into the Life of a Collegiate Cyclist

    My thoughts on cycling and life, racing experiences, training, training tips, and various cycling product reviews!
  • Click below to subscribe to my blog, where you can receive notifications of new posts via email. If you aren't a Wordpress member, simply request a subscription key to your email address!

    Join 19 other followers

  • Want to help support? Starting now, so it won’t be an issue next year, I’m saving for Collegiate and U23 Nationals. Any help is appreciated!

  • Flickr Photos

    More Photos

Review: Raw Revolution Energy Bars

If there’s one thing that can be frustrating to me when on a long ride, its getting the right amount of food into my body at the right time. Most of the time, its when I don’t even feel like I want to be forcing something down, and it gets even worse when its cold outside and my nose starts to run. If you’re like me, the same old Powerbar, Cliff Bar, Hammer Bar, etc. can get old very fast. On top of this even when you try a new flavor, half the time its too dry or chunky to get down as quick as you would like. The last thing I want, especially in a race situation, is to be wasting time of trying to choke down an energy bar. Perhaps you’ve also experienced struggling to get an energy bar wrapper open only to find a half melted treat waiting for you. None of these are things that I like to go through, especially when I’m in pain on the bike!

For all of the stated reasons above, I’ve never been big on using energy bars, and have usually stuck to gels as much as possible. After moving up to Mars Hill and being introduced to a new product through the team, this preference has completely changed. For once, I’ve finally tried an energy bar that I’ve been completely satisfied with on all levels, even those that I normally wouldn’t consider. Raw Revolution energy bars has totally changed the way I eat while on the bike, and has even made it so I can enjoy and look forward to eating on the fly. Being raw, organic, as well as vegan, you can bet that not only are these bars healthy for you, but they’re LOADED with tons of nutritional value. It’s nice to know while eating one of their bars that not only are they enjoyable, but extremely healthy.

What can you find in one of these bars? Taken directly from the ingredients information from a Lemon Dew Raw Rev bar: Organic Dates, Organic Sunflower Seed Kernels, Organic Hemp Protein, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Lemon Powder, Organic Sprouted Flax Seed Powder, Organic Lemon Extract, Organic Wheat Grass Powder, Organic Spirulina Powder, Organic Spinach Powder, Organic Oat Grass Powder, Organic Kale Powder, Organic Broccoli Powder, Organic Barley Grass Powder, Organic Broken Cell Wall Chlorela Powder. Overall, and if I wasn’t clear enough before, the ingredients would allow your average person to come to the conclusion that Raw Revolution bars are, in fact, organic!

The important thing for you potential Raw Revolution energy bar users though is not just the health factor, because you might as well stuff some raw fruits and veggies in your jersey pockets, its the ease of use and taste. As I stated before, I’m in love with the taste of these bars. On top of this, with upwards of 13 different flavors, they don’t get old! Here’s what I love about the taste. When you bite into a, for example, Apple Cinnamon Raw Rev bar, you don’t taste fake flavoring. You can actually feel bits of apple and other nutritious substances, which is not something I find from my usual Powerbar. This flavor bomb is the same for all of their flavors, my favorite being Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough! The ease of use with these bars is just icing on the cake. The wrapping on the bars are very easy to open and the bars DON’T MELT (as far as my experiences go). Too many times have I fumbled around with other brands’ wrappers only to get the corner torn off or the first half of the wrapper off, leaving the rest virtually impossible to get off without having to jump out of the pace line. If you’re curious about pricing, since the rush for organic foods as people want to become “greener” has led to increased prices, there’s no need to fret. The cost of one of these bars will run you the same as with any of the others, about $1.99.

All in all, if you don’t  give these bars a try you’re missing out! I was skeptical at first to abandon my tried and true Powerbar, but after using Raw Revolution energy bars, its all I want!

Want more info? Check their website: Raw Revolution – Organic Live Food Bar

(Subscribe to hear the latest!)

Leave a Reply

